Competencies Framework

MHA+ skills and development

Midlands Highways Alliance Plus

Skills planning is about organising and developing resources to make sure that:

  • our frameworks are delivered consistently by members and their supply chain
  • that the supply chain is trained to help meet business objectives in the short, medium and long term.

Effective engagement will support the delivery of MHA+ priorities and objectives in relation to skills development. Activities include:

  • Analyse the current and future skills that are needed
  • Develop a competencies framework linked to the MHA+ portfolio

      The 2022 updated MHA+ CF is available to download here

  • Ensure that learning and development opportunities support achievement of defined MHA+ competencies[1]
  • Expand the breadth of our learning and development opportunities for the supply chain, in order to upskill, build capacity and capability

What is the MHAF?

The MHAF uses four levels, showing the change in skills needed by people in different roles. MHA+ skills framework (MHAF) is relevant to all alliance members, whatever their role, experience or level of training; whether that is level 2 and 3 qualifications or graduate and postgraduate level. The MHAF has considered other qualification and review [3 & 4] frameworks, and augments a range of other competence-based frameworks that are relevant to specific professions. The framework uses groupings (1-4) of roles; the standard occupational classifications (soc) 2010[2] is used as a proxy to group roles – that are similar in terms of qualifications, training, skills and experience.  Construction skills network use these to categorise occupational groups and roles, using soc reference codes. Construction skills network (csn)  Industry Insights 2023/27 for East Midlands is available here

Forecast information on insights for this sector 2021/25 is available – click here to access

Construction Leadership Council (CLC) have launched (4/23) a plan to support the net zero challenge and get young people into high-skilled, well-paid jobs – click here to access

Who is it for?

The MHAF is relevant to everyone who works on MHA+ schemes, projects or programmes. It has been developed as a useful framework to consolidate required competencies for people working in different service areas, with different vocational and professional backgrounds

The 2022 updated MHA+ CF is available to download here

Click on learning gateway section to access learning, training and development

Click on learning management system section to access our virtual learning gateway.

MHA+ competencies Framework (MHACF) 

The MHACF is framework of the skills and knowledge and its use will enable a consistent analysis of current skills and knowledge against the MHACF competencies. Where there are gaps, it is anticipated that training and resources will be available to support acquisition of skills and knowledge to meet these competencies.

It will be used in discussion with training providers – to assess the extent their learning outcomes and training content support the defined competencies.

How is it organised?

The competencies  – vary depending on the staff group (a to d), level of skills (one to four) of the MHACF.

Each of the competencies is numbered and is an ‘indicator ’of effective performance. These can be used as a guide when evaluating skills and knowledge, by helping to make judgements about current levels of skills and knowledge; how these are used; the extent they are necessary in the work environment; the extent that they promote upskilling; build workforce capacity and capability

[1]Competencies: behavioural and technical that the alliance identify will help achieve its long-term goals. They are broader and more ambitious in scope than role specific competencies and include more technical competencies. They include reference to supporting sustainability, including United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDG)

[2] The standard occupational classification 2020 (SOC2020) is a common classification of occupational information for the UK. Used by ONS jobs are classified in terms of their skill level and skill content. It is used for career information to labour market entrants, job matching by employment agencies and the development of government labour market policies

[3] The citb behavioural competency framework has been considered as it identifies the key behaviours we need in order to achieve high performance and it can be accessed here

[4] Institute of Chartered Engineers – professional review guidance 2022 and it can be accessed here